We extend hearty congratulations to Shauna-Kay Hines, on being named Athlete of the Year (2021) in Para Taekwondo at the RJRGLEANER Sports Foundation National Awards held on Friday, January 21, 2022 in Jamaica.
She was Jamaica’s first taekwondo representative at the Paralympic Games held in Japan in 2021.  This was the first time the discipline was added to the list of competitions at the Games.

Shauna-Kay is a second year student enrolled in the BSc Sport Leadership and Management programme at the Open Campus Academy of Sport. She continues to excel academically and as this award indicates, on the field of play as well. We wish her continued success as she pursues her academic advancements, and towards her continued growth and development as a para-athlete in Taekwondo representing the island of Jamaica.

- Mr. Kervin Jean, Head, Open Campus Academy of Sport

Shauna's response to the award: 
"Receiving this special award is a wonderful honour for me. I would like to express my gratitude to everyone who has believed in me and accompanied me on this incredible journey in sport!"

Click here to read more on her journey to the 2020 Paralympics.

We applaud Llori Sharpe on her accomplishment in being named Athlete of the Year (2021) in the sport of Cycling at the RJRGLEANER Sports Foundation national awards held on Friday, January 21, 2022 in Jamaica.

Llori has been an outstanding triathlete who is now focussed on professional cycling. She recently signed a one year contract with German cycling team CANYON//SRAM Generation, becoming Jamaica’s first cyclist to sign with a team in Europe.  CANYON//SRAM Generation is comprised of 8 talented riders from 7 countries; namely Jamaica, Paraguay, Malaysia, Namibia, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, and Germany. The team's establishment marks the first time a women's team has both a World Tour and a Continental/Development Team.  CANYON//SRAM Racing is a widely-established and well-decorated UCI (Union Cycliste Internationale) Women's World Tour team and has been around since 2016. Its current roster features outstanding cyclists from World Champions to Olympic medallists. However, the team's management and directors have established another Continental/Development team, CANYON//SRAM Generation of which Llori is a part. 

Through all this, she remains on the Deans List for academic excellence reaffirming that excellence in Academics and Sport is very achievable. Indeed I believe that they complement each other. We wish her the very best in both endeavours and are confident that she will maintain excellence in all her future pursuits.

- Dr. Akshai Mansingh


Llori's response to the award:

- "It's an honour being recognised for my accomplishments in cycling. It's always a great feeling when my achievements are acknowledged in some way as it allows me to reflect on and truly appreciate them and my continued athletic progress".



He has set himself the goal of raising the profile of sport as an academic discipline. Now, student in the Faculty of Sport, Taahir Bulbulia explains how he is using sport as a vehicle for change through his Sports Science Society.
Read this article and more in the March/April 2021 edition (Issue 25) of the CHILL Magazine at 

The Faculty Of Sport would like to recognize the following students for their exemplary academic performance

These Students were able to attain a GPA of 3.6 and above

Full Time – 13 awardees

JOHN, Connie, HACKSHAW, Ariel Lakeisha, MCCONNEY, Cristanna CheriseMOHAMMED, Ronaldo Rishaad, MUSTOR, Abigail Lisa, RICHARDS, Ricarlo Orello, BARROW, Shakira Danielle BEST, Natasha Amelia, CHARLERY, Sherneil Tember Igna, JOSEPH, Larry Nuron, MANNING, Jonathan Michael Jared, PAYNE, Akeil Renaldo, WALTERS, Damique Karreem Michael

Part time
ELMS-EDGHILL, Ida Antonette

The Faculty is proud of our first set of graduates at the Cave Hill campus".  A total of 24 graduates in both the undergraduate and graduate programmes in Sport Sciences were awarded their degree at the 2019 graduation ceremony in Cave Hill.

"I can say with great confidence that I have absolutely no regrets about choosing Sports Medicine. It was a difficult decision at the time but I can truly say that I have benefited a great deal from the wealth of information and exposure that Sports Medicine has allowed me. It was a great experience." - Dr. Shenae Miller - MSc. Sports Medicine

Congratulations to Priyanka Dhanie - winner of the 2018/2019 Student Athlete Award at the Cave Hill Campus.

Priyanka continues to excel in a discipline which is not as highly recognized as track and field and soccer in today’s world. Yet she continues to prove why she is a true Champion not only in the classroom but also in Archery. Priyanka’s sporting bio not only speaks to discipline as a champion but also her love to develop younger minds through coaching. Her commitment to the sport of Archery allows her to incorporate what she has learnt in her Sport Science courses. Priyanka has been able to balance her academics with her vigorous training schedule and her travel itinerary for competition and qualifiers. Despite being absent from class due to competition travel Priyanka has still been able to maintain a semester and cumulative GPA above 3.00.

Read her story as reported by Newsday, Trinidad and Tobago at:

Each semester the Dean recognizes students for their academic work. This academic year ends with the following students making it on the Dean's List for Semester 1, 2018/2019 for their excellent performance all-round. 


Back row from left –

Keric Duval, Larry Joseph, Damique Walters, Hasani Newton, Amanda reifer, Nicholas Vahyatharayil


Natasha Best, Sherneil Charlery, Shakira Barrow, Cadijah Mars, Taahir  Bulbulia

Job well done! We wish you continued success. 

CCC Wins  T20  Tournament!


The CCC in a well fought and skillful performance  heads the table as the 2019 UWI World Universities T20 Tournament winners. 


The UWI Mona cricket team are crowned champions of the Jamaica Cricket Association 2018 senior cup cricket competition. Having outplayed Melbourne Cricket over the two-day competition, scoring 299 runs on the first day of play and 77 runs on the second day. The Mona cricketers came out in fine style, with the man of the match Akim Fraser taking a total of 8 wickets to secure the prestigious championship.