Facts at a glance:

Capital: The Valley

Form of Government: British Dependent Territory

Head of State: British Monarch: King Charles III, represented by Governor-General Julia Crouch

Location: 18.5EN, 64EW

Area: 91 square km (35 sq. miles)

Population: 15,928 (2024 est.)

Ethnic make-up: Mainly African descent, some traces of Irish blood.

Adult literacy: 95%

Currency: Eastern Caribbean Dollar (EC$)

Exchange rate: U.S.$1.00 = EC$ 2.70

Time Zone: EST +1; GMT –4

Phone Code: (264) plus 497- and the local 4 digit number

History: Anguilla was a British colony from 1650 until 1967 when it was given the status of 'Associated State' with St. Kitts and Nevis. However, Anguilla separated from the Associated State of St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla and became a British Dependent Territory in 1980.

The British monarch is represented by a governor who presides over the Executive Council and is responsible for external affairs, internal security, offshore finance and the public service.

UWI Connections: Open Campus: Anguilla

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos