Antigua & Barbuda

Facts at a glance:

Capital (of Antigua): St. John's

Capital (of Barbuda): Codrington

Form of Government: Parliamentary democracy, within the British Commonwealth of Nations

Head of State: British Monarch: King Charles III, represented by Governor-General: Rodney Williams

Head of Government: Prime Minister, the Honourable Gaston Browne

Location: 17.5° N, 62°W

Area: 280 sq. km/108 sq.mi. (Antigua); 161 sq.mi.(Barbuda)

Population: 94,703 (2024 est.)

Ethnic Make-Up: The majority of the population is of African descent, with some of British, Portuguese, Lebanese and Syrian origin.

Adult Literacy: 86%

Currency: Eastern Caribbean Dollar

Exchange Rate: US$1 = EC$2.70

Time Zone: EST +1; GMT -4

Phone Code: (268) plus local number

History: Columbus landed in Antigua and Barbuda in 1493 and it was settled by the English in 1632. After a brief period of French control, it passed back to Great Britain in 1667. Antigua and Barbuda was a member of the short-lived Federation of the West Indies from 1958-1962.

On February 27, 1967 Antigua and its two dependencies, Barbuda and Redonda, entered into a free association with other British dependencies in the Windward and Leeward Islands. Antigua & Barbuda gained full independence on November 1, 1981 within the British Commonwealth.

UWI Connections: Open Campus: Antigua & Barbuda

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos